Taylor Township


Taylor Township is located in south-central Blair County and surrounds Roaring Spring Borough. It shares borders with a number of other municipalities, including North Woodbury Township, Greenfield Township, Freedom Township, Blair Township, Huston Township, and Frankstown Township.  Taylor Township also borders the Bedford County line to the south.  Taylor is 23.4 square miles in size and had a population of 2,465 during the 2010 census. The first recorded settlers to the area arrived in 1775; the township officially formed in 1855.

Parts of the township’s border follows the crests of Dunning Mountain, Short Mountain, and Loop Mountain. The Plum Creek and Halter Creek watersheds cover the majority of Taylor Township. Other watersheds passing through the community include Upper Yellow Creek and the Frankstown Branch of the Juniata River.

Maps & Downloads